top of page

ASSIGNMENT ONE

POSTER ONE

My poster design for poster 1, which I developed from my chosen haiku "Over the Wintry" by Natsume Soseki is based on the word haunting which I found was the main theme behind the poem. From the haiku, I played around with many elements of design to come up with my final poster. I wanted to keep my poster very simple and crisp which is the feeling I got from Natsume Soseki the author of the haiku. The poster is meant to represent a night sky with the moon looking down on the trees in a forest. The moon is represented by a basic white circle. This is made clear with the contrast of the black sky. The forest and tree line is represented through the triangles. I decided to use triangles as it is a very strong, prominent shape which perfectly represents trees. The triangle trees are white are only outlined with black to show the shape and form. I used a contrast of the black of the sky and the white of the trees and the moon to clearly represent all elements of the poster.


POSTER TWO

For my movie poster, which I developed from my chosen haiku "Over the Wintry" by Natsume Soseki is based on the title of A Dark Breeze. I found that this title was the most fitting to the haiku as the poem gives off a dark and haunting vibe. I played around with the elements of design, techniques and principles of typography to come up with my idea for my movie poster. I played around with use of lines in a curve to represent wind swirls. I arranged the wind swirls to represent a breeze in the form of a tree. I really like the minimalistic design as it adds to the flow of a breeze. The design is very calm and easy is on the eyes compared to that of sharp lines. I use the colours blue and white as they show contrast of dark and light which meant to demonstrate the movie plot


POSTER THREE

For my storyboard, which I developed from my chosen haiku "Over the Wintry" by Natsume Soseki, is based on a couple who are off to a family Christmas party. In the first few frames, the couple is happy and driving through the countryside. I used the first frames to set the scenery and show how the couple interacts with each other. The second row of frames shows the change of emotions and the change in scenery. Compared to the first row of frames, the second row of frames feels a little more trapped and narrow. This is used to demonstrate that the couple is lost and in the middle of nowhere. The roads become narrower and darker compared to the roads in the first row which shows the hills which makes it feel more open and free. In the second row of frames, the couple's tensions rise and break out into a fight. The third row of frames shows the lost couple wandering into the forest to find some help. They stumble upon a cabin with smoke coming out to of the chimney. They approach the cabin seeking help but come out running due to the cabin owner being deranged.

bottom of page