top of page

POSTER ONE

Haunting


My poster design for poster 1, which I developed from my chosen haiku "Over the Wintry" by Natsume Soseki is based on the word haunting which I found was the main theme behind the poem. From the haiku, I played around with many elements of design to come up with my final poster. I wanted to keep my poster very simple and crisp which is the feeling I got from Natsume Soseki the author of the haiku. The poster is meant to represent a night sky with the moon looking down on the trees in a forest. The moon is represented by a basic white circle. This is made clear with the contrast of the black sky. The forest and tree line is represented through the triangles. I decided to use triangles as it is a very strong, prominent shape which perfectly represents trees. The triangle trees are white are only outlined with black to show the shape and form. I used a contrast of the black of the sky and the white of the trees and the moon to clearly represent all elements of the poster.


Haiku

Over the Wintry by Natsume Soseki


Over the Wintry

Forest, Winds howl in rage

With no leaves to blow



Thought Process




















From the exploration through the haiku analysis and the 9 squares based of the key themes I developed my ideas.

I really liked the key themes of rage and haunting and based my 8 further developments of those themes.

I explored different ways to approach the design through the use the elements of design.































Final 2 Designs

I really liked these the 2 ideas from my further development of ideas and decided to make a final draft for both and pick the best option from there.




bottom of page